Running late…

So the day kind of got away from me, as it often seems to do, and I had no plan for lunch. I had less than 30 minutes until I had to get my son from school but I needed something to eat. What to do? What to do? So I searched the house and found a big bag of fresh spinach, some green onions, carrots, and celery in the fridge but I needed something more. And I remembered I had an extra can of chickpeas in the pantry! Guess what that makes…lunch! I threw it all in a bowl, tossed a little olive oil and balsamic vinegar on it, a dash of pepper and I had one really good salad. I was so excited to have a yummy, healthy lunch from home. And it hit me, it’s all about knowing what to do with what you have and having good stuff in the house. I didn’t have chips to grab, I did have a few fresh ingredients. I added a can of beans to those and voila…magic!

Lesson to share today- keep as much fresh produce around as you can and have some staples (like cans of beans or frozen veggies) on hand and take the time to THINK. I could have easily gone to get some fries on the way to school or even skipped it all together but instead, I took the 5 minutes to fuel my body. It was so worth it! I was satisfied and not hungry until dinner. It’s not hard, not time consuming, not expensive, it’s simply a choice!

Feed your body, fuel your life…nourish.

Leave a Reply

