Happy New Year!

Welcome to 2012!

Before we move on to new things, I really want to reflect on the past year and give thanks for all things food and health. I am very thankful for all the amazing resources that are available for the plant strong eaters of the world. When I began this journey, there were not so many places to turn for help. Now it is so much easier to locate information, recipes, nutritional facts, inspirational stories, etc. I created a top ten discovery list from this past year for all those living a plant based, whole food life. And here they are…
10. Dr. Mcdougall
9. RAWvolution
8. 21 Day Vegan Kickstart
7. Delectable Planet
6. CrazySexyLife
5. Thrive by Brendan Brazier
4. Engine 2 Diet
3. Yumuniverse
2. The Cancer Project
1. Forks Over Knives

These are my resources, almost all new to me but some old favorites. I must say Forks Over Knives is a movie I believe with all my heart that every human being should see. It is very powerful and without the horrors of most vegan films (you know all the gross images we can’t get out of our minds, which while they have their place take away from their mainstream effectiveness to me).  It is a must see! My father is one (of so many) who saw it and decided to make the change to a plant based diet.  FOK is followed by The Cancer Project which is also very near and dear to my heart. I am proud to be working for this organization, sharing the life saving information with anyone I can reach. Numbers range from 30% and up of cancers that are due to foods! If I can help empower one person to change their odds, I am always willing to try. The Cancer Project has teachers all over the country teaching people, one recipe at a time, how to change their lives. And then there is http://www.yumuniverse.com. Let me tell you, this is one well informed recipe master! She is very knowledgeable with a delightful palette. Her recipes have made their way into my daily rotations as well as on to my holiday table (more than once). If you are bored or looking for plant based inspiration, I suggest you head on over to this site. You will NOT be disappointed! The list goes on from here…I have a feeling most of these will stay in my kitchen for a long time.  I am grateful for each one. A lot of love is put into each of these projects, I am thankful they exist. Plant based is much easier thanks to each one.

Hope you enjoy checking out some of my favorites of the year. Please share some of yours too!

Feed your body, fuel your life.

Tracey

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Thanks for sharing your favorite resources for a plant based diet Tracey. Some of them I am familiar with but several others are new and I look forward to checking them out. I was just wondering what made you decide to follow a Vegan lifestyle and how long have you been eating a plant based diet? Does your husband and son follow the same eating principles? I enjoy reading all of your posts, they are always informative and encouraging.

  2. 2

    nourish said,

    Hi Stephanie! I have been eating a strictly plant based diet for about 5 years. I had been a vegetarian for many years but the dairy was really causing me problems. The more I read and learned for my nutrition studies, the more it became clear that vegan was the way to go! Decreased risks in things like cancer, heart disease, and diabetes are all benefits to this way of life. I actually went raw before vegan. Although it was just too time consuming and labor intensive for me, I have never felt better! So I still try to incorporate as much raw food as I can in my diet. I have found the combination works best for me.

    As far as my family’s diet, they are tough! My husband eats most of what I make but still eats meat and dairy. My son is the most challenging. I was making myself (and everyone else) crazy trying to really push the greens on him. We compromised…he eats healthier version of what most 7 year old boys eat. So his chicken is organic, his dairy is limited and organic, and he takes a green supplement. It’s what works for now!

    Thanks for the post! I love reading your blog as well. I don’t know how you do it all, you really are the modern, healthy superMom! 🙂

    Best to you and your family.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

