Easy Vegan Nut Cheese

So many people tell me they really miss cheese when they go vegan. I have to admit that was not something I missed much at all. I have had dairy issues most of my life so aside from ranch dressing (which I LOVED), dairy was not very hard for me. I always suggest nutritional yeast for a cheese substitute. It can be sprinkled on just about anything or added to sauces for a cheesy flavor. BUT I also found a handy little recipe along the way that I would say is more of a nut take on hummus but is called cheese. I use it for dip for fresh vegetables, on top of my raw walnut tacos, as spread on veggie wraps, and lots of other ways. Here is the recipe I use, it’s from the RAWvolution book by Matt Amsden. I love his book! My famous walnut tacos originated from his recipe (and by famous I mean anyone I have cooked for has probably had these, I love them).

Here it is…

1 to 1.5  cups of raw nuts- *soaked (cashews or macadamia nuts or a mixture of both)

1/4 fresh lemon juice

1/4 organic red bell pepper

1/4 cup Nama Shoyu (raw soy sauce)

2-3 garlic cloves

Blend in a high speed blender until smooth. Enjoy!

* By soaking the nuts for a few hours ahead of time, it will make them easier for your body to process. You can look it up if you want more information about why… it really just helps break them down so your body can more easily assimilate their nutrients.

Try it out and see what you think! I hope to get a few more raw recipes on here this week. This warm weather here is making me crave my summer favorites in March. I eat way more raw foods in the summer months because there is an abundance of fresh produce readily available. Raw foods are very cleansing and full of life!

Feed your body, fuel your life!

Leave a Reply

